10 Things that Make Me Awesome!

To help you all get to know me better I wanted to share 10 facts about myself that I think make me!

  1. I am obsessed with penguins! When I was 16 years-old I was in a job interview. The reason this job interview stood out so much was because I’ve had a lot of interviews in my time. So when they started the “normal” interview the questions I knew it was going well, until they asked me a question I’ve never been asked before. “What is your favorite animal and why?” At first, I was like “Did you really just ask me that?” After a few seconds, I regained myself and said, “Penguins. They waddle and always make people happy, and they are always ready for a party!” Ever since that interview I’ve been obsessed with penguins! And you may not believe me so let me list some of my penguin items for you:
    • I have over 40 penguins (majority of them have names)
    • I have a Christmas tree with penguin ornaments to cover it.
    • I have clothing (socks, shirts, pants, pajamas, costumes, undergarments, slippers)
    • I have Happy Feet 1 and 2, Mr. Poppers Penguins, Penguins of Madagascar Movie, along with a few mini-movies of theirs
    • I have a Penguin Love Blvd. street sign and a bunch of penguin drawings my old students have given me that I have hung up on my wall of fame.
    • I have penguin books of all kinds.
    • I’ve taught a whole penguin unit!
    • I also was born 27 minutes before National Penguin Day (coincidence I THINK NOT!)
    • Every summer on the last weekend before the school year begins I always visit a zoo or aquarium to see and visit my penguin family!
    • I have penguin figurines
    • Penguin bowling pin
    • Penguin Club Trading Cards
    • Penguin jewelry
    •  Penguin video games and board games

There are probably other penguin items that I am not remembering at this time but none the less I think you get the idea!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2.  I have been in school for almost 9 years! And no I’m not going to college to be a doctor either! I entered college in the fall of 2009 to become a teacher. I’ve known I’ve wanted to be a teacher since I could remember. I am majoring in two majors actually, Elementary grades 1 – 8th and Special Education cross categories. Now, this program with these two majors would normally take up to five years. However, with some bad advice and the discovery of my learning disability, it has now taken me around nine years. I’ll be graduating the program with my two degrees in the spring of 2018. I love teaching kids and always found happiness in it even on the bad days. My goal is to be teaching special education for around three years and then find a position teaching in any grades from 3rd through 8th. After teaching for around 30 years or so I want to have my own school and create a place for kids who can reach their full potential!

12187924_10205503921349421_1122617535467245505_n

 

 

 

3. I am driven! I never give up on something I want. It may take me a while and a few tries but if I really really want something I will never take “no” for an answer and I will never stop until I can’t go anymore.

18274990_10209537663790461_8991955663218525790_n

4. I am afraid of heights, but I love hiking up cliffs. I mean I am not a huge fan of them but I do not let my fear of it stop me from having fun on amusement park rides and hiking on cliffs. I try to be fearless.I was raised by a single parent, a.k.a. my father (who’s a badass!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5. I was raised by a single parent, a.k.a. my father (who’s a badass!). When I was 17 years old my mother decided to leave my 3 younger siblings and my father. My father being the great and amazing man that he, is decided to step up and take care of us, four children. Almost 10 years ago this happened, my dad has now three daughters graduated from high school and my brother will be graduating next year. And all three daughters are in college and one of those daughters graduated college and is now on to grad school. My dad is an amazing dad and man who works his ass off for his children!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6. I love working with kids of all ages and talents. I’ve been working with children of all ages since I was a teenager. I’ve always loved hanging out and playing with children more than adults. I think it comes in handy at times, but it is especially useful since the career path I am going in allows me to work with children!I myself have a learning disability along with mental illness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7. I myself have a learning disability along with mental illness. My second year in college I was struggling with school and having trouble retaining information. This was not something that was new, I had been struggling with these problems since 6th grade. I had finally reached a point in my school career where I couldn’t excel. I only had once choice and that was to get tested to see if I had a learning disability. I found out that I have Dyslexia. Dyslexia involves having difficulty in learning to read or interpret words, letters, and other symbols, but that does not affect general intelligence. This does not mean I can’t learn like everyone else because I can. Honestly, it just takes me a little longer for me to learn and remember something. I also struggle with depression and anxiety and have since middle school. As I grew older my depression and anxiety have gotten worse. Being older now, I have accepted that I suffer from this mental illness. I have taken responsibility in understanding my mental illness as best as I can, in order to live my daily life with this. I take mental illness very seriously because of how much it has affected me and my life. So with that being said, I continue to do research to help myself and others with different daily tasks and ways to control and live with mental illness. I feel that mental illness does not make you weak it makes you special! It makes you sparkle in a different way!

15109491_1003634693082287_2847397392201377359_n.jpg

8. I love anything and everything about history, and hope to be a part of it one day! My minor is in history! I always think history is like a giant bedtime story, that you can read and learn about over and over. My favorite parts of history are all of American history, European history,  Egyptian history, crime in America history and war history. I struggle with remembering all the facts but I’ve taken classes on all of those areas in my lifetime and I love to read books about all of these events of history.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9. I am human, I am not perfect.I’m a believer. I believe anything can be accomplished by anyone, even if they do not believe it themselves. I can not tell you how many times I’ve failed at a goal of mine or failed to be consistent with things. But I always come back to my goals, I never give up because I know I’m not perfect! Sometimes my depression gets the best of me and when I fall off track and it makes giving up and coming up with excuses easy. But I am a believer that anyone can do anything no matter how many times it takes, no matter how many times they fail they can do anything they set their mind to!

15192744_1001674936611596_6817274218958852828_n

10. I’m a believer. I believe anything can be accomplished by anyone, even if they do not believe it themselves. There are days I feel like a failure, and that I don’t deserve something in particular, and that I could never get where other people are. Then there are days where I feel like I could do anything, and that I deserve the world, and that I could have what other people have. All I have to do is TRY! No matter how many times I fall off the wagon or come up with excuses it does not mean I can’t reach my dreams. Some of the most famous people of today and in history failed multiple times before they reached their dreams!

e221700c214a5f446cd1769cf37d13b3

Believe it or not coming up with these 10 facts was not easy! Try to come up with 10 facts about yourself that make you AWESOME!

-Stay Beautiful. Stay Fierce.

 

Leave a Reply

